Aftermath Reborn Rules Discussion

Page 4 of 12 Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 10, 11, 12  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Re: Aftermath Reborn Rules Discussion

Post by Tysha on Tue Jul 09, 2013 9:50 am

Is the Merchant Connections bonus factored into a successful raid against that county? If so, I think the map should be edited to reflect the true wealth of each county. Also if so, is the same true of the Bureaucrat perk?

Tysha
Illustrious
Illustrious

Posts : 674
Join date : 2013-06-18

Character sheet
Character Name: Tysha Abaddon
Counties Ruled: Hex 9

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Aftermath Reborn Rules Discussion

Post by Mordred on Tue Jul 09, 2013 9:53 am

I've been debating this myself. What do you guys think?

_________________
GM of Aftermath Reborn - and by GM, I mean Grand Maestro!

Mordred
King
King

Posts : 867
Join date : 2013-06-18

Character sheet
Character Name: Mordred Adalhard
Counties Ruled: All of them

View user profile http://aftermathreborn.forumotion.co.uk

Back to top Go down

Re: Aftermath Reborn Rules Discussion

Post by Tysha on Tue Jul 09, 2013 9:57 am

I'm terribly biased, so if we come up close on this... ignore me.

I think no. Raiding in the steppe is common... taking from the peasants, that is. Taking from merchants opens up a whole new problem with some IC translations of the perk. Raiding the merchants would be more of highwayman behavior (waiting along a trade route) rather than hitting a village. It would likely affect trade across Pendor to some extent... it's a backwater area by default, and Merchant Connections significantly boosts wealth in comparison to our unboosted levels. Thus I assume the merchants are not solely on the steppe, but trading from Sarleon, Cez, Ravenstern, etc.

Of course it can be argued the other way too... so yeah. /saysnothing

Tysha
Illustrious
Illustrious

Posts : 674
Join date : 2013-06-18

Character sheet
Character Name: Tysha Abaddon
Counties Ruled: Hex 9

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Aftermath Reborn Rules Discussion

Post by Valdir on Tue Jul 09, 2013 5:33 pm

Although it is certainly not in my (raiding)favour, I'll agree with Tysha's view.

Valdir
Illustrious
Illustrious

Posts : 542
Join date : 2013-06-29

Character sheet
Character Name: Valdir Bazzano
Counties Ruled: Talon March [4]

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Aftermath Reborn Rules Discussion

Post by Psychozoa on Tue Jul 09, 2013 9:16 pm

Question regarding Church Appointment:

do the 2 extra levy units have to stay with the Character or can a Captain lead them as well?

Psychozoa
Distinguished
Distinguished

Posts : 212
Join date : 2013-07-03
Age : 30
Location : Germany

Character sheet
Character Name: Vincent Margrove
Counties Ruled: Hex 21, Silverwood Edge

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Aftermath Reborn Rules Discussion

Post by Mordred on Tue Jul 09, 2013 9:22 pm

Anyone can lead them, they are basically free units. It is only the troops granted through Quirks which are personal.

_________________
GM of Aftermath Reborn - and by GM, I mean Grand Maestro!

Mordred
King
King

Posts : 867
Join date : 2013-06-18

Character sheet
Character Name: Mordred Adalhard
Counties Ruled: All of them

View user profile http://aftermathreborn.forumotion.co.uk

Back to top Go down

Re: Aftermath Reborn Rules Discussion

Post by Valdir on Wed Jul 10, 2013 2:05 am

A Barony is when you have a Manor or higher building in a village, right?

Does this mean your Captains can become Barons?

Valdir
Illustrious
Illustrious

Posts : 542
Join date : 2013-06-29

Character sheet
Character Name: Valdir Bazzano
Counties Ruled: Talon March [4]

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Aftermath Reborn Rules Discussion

Post by Mordred on Wed Jul 10, 2013 2:40 am

Valdir wrote:A Barony is when you have a Manor or higher building in a village, right?

Does this mean your Captains can become Barons?

No reason why not, go for it (Barons will have no powers anyway, with the possible exception of "leading" a unit, though that will not be represented in game, in any way.

Another discussion; I strongly suspect that Merchant Connections is overpowered at the moment, particularly compared to Priest which only gives 1MP. Should their bonus be knocked down to 1 Wealth?

_________________
GM of Aftermath Reborn - and by GM, I mean Grand Maestro!

Mordred
King
King

Posts : 867
Join date : 2013-06-18

Character sheet
Character Name: Mordred Adalhard
Counties Ruled: All of them

View user profile http://aftermathreborn.forumotion.co.uk

Back to top Go down

Re: Aftermath Reborn Rules Discussion

Post by Shadow-Seeker on Wed Jul 10, 2013 2:42 am

How about we simulate a turn or two, to see the effects of merchant connections against those who dont possess it?

If its too strong of a bonus, then we nerf it

Shadow-Seeker
Distinguished
Distinguished

Posts : 191
Join date : 2013-06-26

Character sheet
Character Name:
Counties Ruled:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Aftermath Reborn Rules Discussion

Post by Tysha on Wed Jul 10, 2013 2:45 am

Well, you know my thoughts Mordred.

It is too powerful as it stands. We'll have something of an arms race initially, due to how much more powerful the higher tier troops are. Those without the wealth to keep up will fall, regardless of their manpower. Over the long term (That is, well over 10 turns) things may begin to balance out. As it stands though, wealth is far more vital than manpower.

Tysha
Illustrious
Illustrious

Posts : 674
Join date : 2013-06-18

Character sheet
Character Name: Tysha Abaddon
Counties Ruled: Hex 9

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Aftermath Reborn Rules Discussion

Post by Valdir on Wed Jul 10, 2013 2:45 am

However, merchant connections respresent way more than a priestly background.

Knowing and having befriend multiple merchants in multiple towns should give a bonus that's much more significant than the 'devine' presence of a priest.

Valdir
Illustrious
Illustrious

Posts : 542
Join date : 2013-06-29

Character sheet
Character Name: Valdir Bazzano
Counties Ruled: Talon March [4]

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Aftermath Reborn Rules Discussion

Post by Tysha on Wed Jul 10, 2013 2:49 am

It's a short-term long-term difference. One extra manpower isn't likely to mean anything at all for most of us, until we spend quite a few turns. Eventually it might... but that's unlikely given how we'll have other events occurring and such.

Unless we were to change the rules about recruitment and manpower. For instance, troops not recharging automatically and freely, but either requiring a portion of gold or manpower to replenish them. Then the extra manpower (whether through priest or base) would really mean something in the near term.

Tysha
Illustrious
Illustrious

Posts : 674
Join date : 2013-06-18

Character sheet
Character Name: Tysha Abaddon
Counties Ruled: Hex 9

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Aftermath Reborn Rules Discussion

Post by Mordred on Wed Jul 10, 2013 2:51 am

Well it'd grant 40 gold more in those turns over those without the trait. My economics were that an average player would earn about 30/turn, meaning the Merchant Connections allows 2/3 of an action a turn extra.

Yeah, it's overpowered as is, so it will be nerfed to 1 Wealth.

@Valdir, noted, but in game mechanic terms if currently does far more.

_________________
GM of Aftermath Reborn - and by GM, I mean Grand Maestro!

Mordred
King
King

Posts : 867
Join date : 2013-06-18

Character sheet
Character Name: Mordred Adalhard
Counties Ruled: All of them

View user profile http://aftermathreborn.forumotion.co.uk

Back to top Go down

Re: Aftermath Reborn Rules Discussion

Post by Mordred on Wed Jul 10, 2013 2:54 am

((Extra note; the Merchant Connections system as it stood was intended only for the capital County, while Priest would affect all owned Counties. As most if not all players will likely have just 1 for the foreseeable future, it was just too big a bonus, and was not working as intended. My initial design had Merchant Connections and Priest offering just 1 Wealth / 1 MP in the Capital so its a reversion rather than a nerf)).

EDIT : I realise it is a pretty big change, so you can switch trait if you so wish until the meeting starts tomorrow, just be sure to let me know.

_________________
GM of Aftermath Reborn - and by GM, I mean Grand Maestro!

Mordred
King
King

Posts : 867
Join date : 2013-06-18

Character sheet
Character Name: Mordred Adalhard
Counties Ruled: All of them

View user profile http://aftermathreborn.forumotion.co.uk

Back to top Go down

Re: Aftermath Reborn Rules Discussion

Post by Tysha on Wed Jul 10, 2013 5:38 am

How will raiding work when multiple forces hit the same province?

I could see that happening in two ways: Either an allied force hits the same province, or it's a coincidence and the two sides are not raiding 'together'

Tysha
Illustrious
Illustrious

Posts : 674
Join date : 2013-06-18

Character sheet
Character Name: Tysha Abaddon
Counties Ruled: Hex 9

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Aftermath Reborn Rules Discussion

Post by Mordred on Wed Jul 10, 2013 5:41 am

Unless expressly done as an alliance they will occur one after the other, based on a roll for initiative.

_________________
GM of Aftermath Reborn - and by GM, I mean Grand Maestro!

Mordred
King
King

Posts : 867
Join date : 2013-06-18

Character sheet
Character Name: Mordred Adalhard
Counties Ruled: All of them

View user profile http://aftermathreborn.forumotion.co.uk

Back to top Go down

Re: Aftermath Reborn Rules Discussion

Post by Tysha on Wed Jul 10, 2013 5:43 am

If they raid together, does it count as a victory for them separately, or must they share the boons? (Gold, Prestige, Victory)

Tysha
Illustrious
Illustrious

Posts : 674
Join date : 2013-06-18

Character sheet
Character Name: Tysha Abaddon
Counties Ruled: Hex 9

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Aftermath Reborn Rules Discussion

Post by Mordred on Wed Jul 10, 2013 5:47 am

Shared, though all involved will get the victory.

_________________
GM of Aftermath Reborn - and by GM, I mean Grand Maestro!

Mordred
King
King

Posts : 867
Join date : 2013-06-18

Character sheet
Character Name: Mordred Adalhard
Counties Ruled: All of them

View user profile http://aftermathreborn.forumotion.co.uk

Back to top Go down

Re: Aftermath Reborn Rules Discussion

Post by Tysha on Wed Jul 10, 2013 6:07 am

The free unit of adventurers functions like a normal unit, correct?

Or do they accompany Tysha 24/7 like the quirks?

Tysha
Illustrious
Illustrious

Posts : 674
Join date : 2013-06-18

Character sheet
Character Name: Tysha Abaddon
Counties Ruled: Hex 9

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Aftermath Reborn Rules Discussion

Post by Mordred on Wed Jul 10, 2013 6:13 am

Like a normal unit, deploy them as you see fit.

_________________
GM of Aftermath Reborn - and by GM, I mean Grand Maestro!

Mordred
King
King

Posts : 867
Join date : 2013-06-18

Character sheet
Character Name: Mordred Adalhard
Counties Ruled: All of them

View user profile http://aftermathreborn.forumotion.co.uk

Back to top Go down

Re: Aftermath Reborn Rules Discussion

Post by Sir Nickolas on Wed Jul 10, 2013 7:20 am

For raiding, how are we supposed to gauge enemy troop strength, or are we supposed to charge in blind?

_________________
Simon Lane:
Dynasty: House of Lane
Captains: Simon Lane (Hex 18) // Tristan Wynn (Hex 18)
Counties: Duskfall Sanctuary (Hex 18)

Biography Link // Orders & Meta Data: Link

"They have taken our lands and battered our mortal shells, but they will never take away our spirit of war!" - Count Simon Lane

Sir Nickolas
Distinguished
Distinguished

Posts : 215
Join date : 2013-06-18
Location : USA

Character sheet
Character Name: Simon Lane
Counties Ruled: 18 (Duskfall Sanctuary)

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Aftermath Reborn Rules Discussion

Post by Vealdis on Wed Jul 10, 2013 7:29 am

Maybe scouting parties that got an X% chance for usefull information ...and how does a deffending party know that there is an enemy on their way to you?

Vealdis
Distinguished
Distinguished

Posts : 175
Join date : 2013-07-02

Character sheet
Character Name: Vealdis Hullcleaver
Counties Ruled:

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Aftermath Reborn Rules Discussion

Post by Sir Nickolas on Wed Jul 10, 2013 7:38 am

Well, for now I'll assume that in the spreadsheet, under Manpower, lists all troops for each hex. So, hopefully the Mystmountains won't upgrade and keep their 2 peasants against my peasants and bowmen!

_________________
Simon Lane:
Dynasty: House of Lane
Captains: Simon Lane (Hex 18) // Tristan Wynn (Hex 18)
Counties: Duskfall Sanctuary (Hex 18)

Biography Link // Orders & Meta Data: Link

"They have taken our lands and battered our mortal shells, but they will never take away our spirit of war!" - Count Simon Lane

Sir Nickolas
Distinguished
Distinguished

Posts : 215
Join date : 2013-06-18
Location : USA

Character sheet
Character Name: Simon Lane
Counties Ruled: 18 (Duskfall Sanctuary)

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Aftermath Reborn Rules Discussion

Post by Mordred on Wed Jul 10, 2013 7:39 am

Mystmountains will have more, that's just placeholder for the moment. I'm thinking that raids on Mustmountains will be riskier but provide better reward.

_________________
GM of Aftermath Reborn - and by GM, I mean Grand Maestro!

Mordred
King
King

Posts : 867
Join date : 2013-06-18

Character sheet
Character Name: Mordred Adalhard
Counties Ruled: All of them

View user profile http://aftermathreborn.forumotion.co.uk

Back to top Go down

Re: Aftermath Reborn Rules Discussion

Post by Tysha on Wed Jul 10, 2013 8:45 am

The change to require Order knights to be upgraded from knights or dismounted knights creates a conflict with the Order Member perk kinda. Order Members can recruit knights with a keep, but would still need to get a unit of knights from the castle tier first. Unless they have an additional exception and can hire them outright.

Tysha
Illustrious
Illustrious

Posts : 674
Join date : 2013-06-18

Character sheet
Character Name: Tysha Abaddon
Counties Ruled: Hex 9

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Aftermath Reborn Rules Discussion

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Page 4 of 12 Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 10, 11, 12  Next

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum